plannerright.blogg.se

Vox pathfinder 15r repairs
Vox pathfinder 15r repairs










vox pathfinder 15r repairs vox pathfinder 15r repairs

vox pathfinder 15r repairs

My guess is that r62 (47k) is a mixing resistor, which is rather large compared to r64 (4,7k) the mixing resistor for the dry signal. The output of a reverb tank is around 1 to 5 mV (maybe a bit more if driven to the max) so a gain of around 100 to 200 sould be enough to match the output level of the dry signal after the preamp. The gain of the recovery section is over 700! It was 5 (five) in the MG and it only became surfy after I increased it a lot. Such a low value will surely load down the tank output transducer and will reduce the amplitude of the resonance peak and will make it overall quieter and duller. In the Marshall it's 220k but here it's 22k Ohm. So, a value between 125k (two 250k pots) and 250k (two 500k pots). The output transducer is very similar to a guitar pickup and you would expect a value that is comparable with the vol/tone pot in a guitar. The recovery section starts off a bit weird because that R57 is the load for the output transducer of the tank. It's current driven and has the right component values there. Going over the PF15r circuit, most of the reverb section seems fine. I still prefer my Surfy Bear but for a cheap onboard reverb it's really awesome. I'm amazed at how good this tank can be made to sound. I'm saying this because the PF15r has exactly the same cheap two-spring tank. As it stands, pretty much nothing of the original circuit is stock but it sounds great and has great spring reverb, good enough for surf. I bought a Marshall MG15CDR a couple of months ago as a personal challenge to make this 'worst amp ever built' sound like a proper Marshall. In the end I found the amp and especially the reverb too noisy and sold it.

#VOX PATHFINDER 15R REPAIRS MODS#

I had a 15r once and besides a lot of other mods I also modded the reverb section to make it drip (which it eventually did) but I can't remember the exact mod.












Vox pathfinder 15r repairs